Cyprus Villa for Rent

Reviews

Perfect for Cyprus Golf Holidays in Limassol

For Families, Couples, Retreats, and Nature Lovers

 

Cyprus Villa Accomodation Limassol

More info: Limassol Villa and the local Cyprus village

Living Room 

Bedrooms 

Bathrooms and Kitchen

Old Mill House Library 

Flora and Fauna in the villa Garden 

Retreat in Cyprus village villa

Marriage Weddings Cyprus Honeymoons  

Cyprus Golfing Holiday

 

Cyprus Villa Accommodation Village Vacinity

Photos: Old Mill House & Vacinity 

Cyprus Golfing Holiday

Local Mountain Views 

Walking, Rambling, Hiking, and Cycling 

Village birdlife, birdwatching, and wildlife  

Cyprus Village Easter Celebrations 

Cyprus Village Locals 

 

Limassol & Cyprus  with extra photos

Many things to do in Cyprus 

Cyprus Churches 

Cyprus History 

Limassol Mountain Views 

Beach Views 

Cyprus Overview

Limassol Maps 

 

Cyprus Accommodation Limassol - Villa Rates and Availability

Cyprus Villa Accommodation Limassol - Bookings 

Cyprus Villa Accommodation Limassol - Reviews 

 

Miscellaneous - Cyprus Golfing Holiday extras and Sitemap

Cyprus Golfing Holiday

Cyprus Golfing Holiday - What Every Golfer Should Know 

Cyprus Villa Accommodation Limassol - Sitemap

Please click for some more specific types of reviews, or browse at your leisure: Pictorial Review, Poetical Reviews, Magazine Review

March 2008

"Top" Cyprus House

"Hello,

Wonderful holidays in Cyprus and in the Old Mill House. We came back on Sunday (as we stayed for an another week in Paphos).  Klonari is a very peaceful town and we met nice people (and our 3 kids got new friends even though they spoke a different language!).  The house is well equipped and we had all we needed! We visited Limassol, Agya Napa, Kolossi, Kourion, Lefkosia (and the Turkish part) one day in Trodoos, and also beaches of course!  The weather was wonderful (as it was rainy all this time in France!). The kids were crazy about all the cats!! We have plenty of photographs!!! Sorry that we are not very "creative" and we only read poems on the wall; we haven't created anything for the house (but the children made drawings!).

Thanks a lot for this holiday.

Your house is top and we could recommended it if necessary!

Best Regards

Isabelle and Franck from France"

February 2008

Warm Hearted Cyprus

"We had fun!  The house is perfectly situated for visiting the rest of the island while at the same time being away from the "hubub" of the coast.  The fresh cold air in the evenings makes the wood fire a cosy focus to sit around.  But the sunny days allowed us to go home with some colour in our cheeks.  We have recovered our energy here and I hope you do the same! 

At some point you will fantasize of putting the cockerel in the oven for Sunday lunch, but please forgive him, he's just doing his job - even if he is a little arrogant about carrying it out!

By the way, if you wish to taste the delights of fish meze go to Zygi.

We made a couple of excursions into the north and found that the people are just as open and warm hearted as in the south.  Let's hope that the division can be torn down sometime soon.  The island appeared to us to have just one soul.

Claudia, André and Jamie from Berlin"

January 2008

Restful Christmas holiday with much to do

"We had 10 enjoyable and restful days in Klonari. Many thanks. We only spent the evenings in the house since there is a lot to see, and the weather remained good for our entire stay. The only creativity we managed while we were there was culinary in nature, and we have left behind quite a lot of herbs, spices and maybe even a bottle of wine for your next guests.

We had Christmas lunch with your friends at the restaurant in Parekklisia, which was good fun.

We will definitely recommend the Old Mill House to friends."

December 2007

Honeymoon and perhaps Wedding Anniversary to come?

"If you want peace and tranquility, and be reasonably close to a large urban centre, this is definitely the place.

The Old Mill house is located in the charming village of Kellaki. The villagers are friendly without being nosey. The location is breathtaking in the mountains of Cyprus. It brings you back to a time where life wasn't so fast paced.

The Old Mill house itself is a well modernized old building, clean, sunny, pleasant, and includes all the amenities needed to make a comfortable stay.

We honeymooned there for 2 weeks and we wished we could have stayed longer.  We hope to come back for our 5th wedding anniversary."

November 2007

English Poetry from a German family!

"Driving from Kellaki

All the way

Up to little Klonari

For a 10-day stay.

 

Enjoying weather, countryside and sun,

Exploring the beautiful island

We had lots of fun.

 

Monasteries, Pafos, and Nicosia,

We have seen them all

Lefkara, Limassol and Troodos,

How sunny was this fall...

 

Wir wünschen allen weiteren

Besuchern einen schonen

Aufenthalt auf Zypern

 

Viele Grusse

 

Edwin, Thea, Isabel und Sandra

aus Kassel/Deutschland."

October 2007

French time in Cyprus too short:  Bien Trop Court

"Un joli sejour a Chypre. Bien trop court!
Nous avons aime "The Old Mill House" et ses nombreux chats: Le village is reposant aussi.

Sylvie et Christian Guillet

Matheu et Benjamin."

Beautiful Village House

"A nice house in a Cypriot village. The environment is beautiful, the house very well arranged. The only drawback is that driving on the left is not easy for a French person!"

June 2007

Newly Weds Poetry - English Poetry from a French speaking couple!

"The little grey kitten

It sleeps on the stones

Near the entrance of

The Old Mill House

It is so peaceful

I can't help but wonder

If it dreams of birds

And other cat delights

 

Later it will awaken

Perhaps from the sound

Of a passing vehicle

Maybe her mum is calling

Her to come around

And learn how to hunt for dinner

Instead of begging at the door

Of the Old Mill House

 

by Nathalie C Orianne

 

As newly weds, we really enjoyed the tranquility of the Old Mill House.  The villagers and cats were very friendly, and I couldn't help myself, I had to feed this mother cat, I nicknames "Baby" and her 3 kittens.

 

We enjoyed walking around to the golf club, to Kellaki, and also to Akapnou.

 

As a vegetarian I'd like to recommend the "Venetian" restaurant, on the seashore road bewteen Amuthus and Limassol.  The vegetarian Moussaka was out of this world and the owner, Tony, was very friendly.  He makes great food for carnivores too!

 

Two weeks we stayed and flew by too quickly.  My new hubby and I discussed coming back for a wedding anniversary.

Nathalie and Samer"

Unfaulterable Village Villa

"First of all I must say what a fantastic time we had staying at the Old Mill House,

The people in the village are really friendly and helpful; the house itself is very comfortable.

And everything you need is there, took some great photo’s of some baby swallows in their nest.

Places we visited were, Larnaca, Nicosia, Stavravouni Monastery, (great views from here) “Tomb of the Kings” in Pathos, and Troodos.

And went out on the town so to speak, starting the night at “The Baytree Restaurant” for a meal, I must say that the meals and service here are out of this world, so good we decided to go back on our last night in Cyprus, Harry the owner could not do enough for us, and it was a pleasure to get to know him, smashing guy.

We also had a good meze at the “stone cottage” in Parekklisia also very friendly and a good laugh,

And had a meal at the cafe in Kellaki, we even got included in the owners 39th birthday celebrations,

The cockerels well you expect that living in a remote village, part of the experience, all in all we could not fault our holiday at THE OLD MILL HOUSE.

Regards Jacquie and Bill."

May 2007

Local Village

The hamlet is delightful and we enjoyed the local people particularly Marias's old mother and the other old lady who lives next door - her daughter-in-law gave us homemade goats' cheese.

We did several local walks from the house and others from short drives into the Troodos. We visited the usual spots, Paphos, Limassol, Larnaca, Nicosia, and Kyrenia.

We particularly enjoyed walking on the Akamas peninsular. It was a very pleasant fortnight and we did manage to find some old villages untouched by tourism and enjoy local food - lamb cooked in wood- burning ovens which we were taken down to the basement to see.

April 2007

Cyprus Ecotourism

Cats meow!

Cockerels call!

Swallows swoop!

      I hate them all.

 

Now it is another day.

My headache, it has gone away.

 

Cats meow!

Cockerels call!

Swallows swoop!

      I still hate them all.

 

I'm washing sheets.

We're going home.

This week at the Mill House has certainly flown.

 

Cats meow!

Cockerels call!

Swallows (or swifts or house martins, how should I know?) still swoop!

     I'll miss them all.

          by Gloria Curtis April 2007

March 2007

Cyprus Countryside

"Good afternoon Robin,

We enjoyed very much our stay at your place. It was indeed a very quiet place, far from tourist places and the view is wonderful. It is also a good place to walk around from without taking the car : The church is magnificent and plenty of uncored roads make it easy to just wonder around the countryside. It's a good place with small children.
April is a wonderful time to see the interesting plants in the country around the Old Mill House.

Your indications to get there are very clear.
We very much appreciated the warm welcome in the form of a bottle of milk and bread we found when arriving late in the day from the airport!!
The people around are also very welcoming and nice, while discreet.

We tried to visit different places in the mountains. We went to the sea and enjoyed particularly the Governor's beach. There is a nice walk on the right of the beaches on the white rocks : a very wild and pleasant area. We also went to Nicosia and enjoyed particularly the museums."
 

January 2007

Competitively priced Villa for Rent

Our week in Klonari was very fine. Now that we are settled in the downtown of Nicosia we are even more grateful that we were able to spend that time in the village. My children made friends with many cats and we enjoyed feeling part of the small community that met at the church on
Saturday morning. We are very appreciative of the opportunity to stay in the Old Mill as with four children hotel rooms would have been costly and inconvenient.

Best of thanks to you!

December 2006

The Magic of Christmas in a Cyprus Village Villa

"We all wanted to say thank you for a wonderful time at the Old Mill House.  The sun shone almost continuously the whole time we were there, although the weather ranged in temperature from below freezing (with wind chill) to a respectable 13-15C!!  We managed to see quite a lot of the island - archeological sites and churches in  Lefkosia, Lemesos, Pafos, bit of walking in Troodos - it was magic.  We also all really enjoyed being away from the "touristy" resorts, and the in the quiet of the mountains - only wished we had packed our mountain bikes!!  

We managed to keep well stocked with food.  The little grocery store in Parakklesia was closed 24th - 26th, but we stocked up on bits and pieces from stores in the bigger towns when visiting, and also the local markets!  It was great.  We mainly cooked for ourselves, and really appreciated the wide selection you had of pots and pans, crockery etc.  Our one night out to the little Taverna in Paraklesia saw us returning with enough leftovers to last us 2 days!!!  So much delicious food!!!

Thank you very much, again.  We will certainly stay at the Old Mill House again if we visit Cyprus - and bring our mountain bikes.  I will also refer you to our friends."

November 2006

Cyprus Village - Comfortable Sleep

"We arrived home yesterday. We liked it a lot! Since our children are young we didn't have time for any poetry.... we just went to bed at 9 o'clock and slept comfortably.   We liked the village and the people, it is indeed a wonderful place."

September 2006

CyprusVilla - Peace with Nature

"We had a wonderful holiday thank you. The weather was beautiful, area so quiet & peaceful apart from nature's sounds such as the cockerells, dogs, birds etc."

August 2006

Villas for Rent in Cyprus: Marvellous Cyprus Holiday

"We spent a marvellous holiday in Cyprus.  The property is really beautiful and the people very friendly. We recommend this location to all people."

Villas for Rent in Cyprus: Wonderful Holiday in the Cyprus Village Villa

"We had a wonderful holiday in your villa, it was very peaceful and quiet.  Maria (Village Mayoress) is really an extraordinary person, and the people around very friendly.  Our daughter played every evening with Nicolleta, the little girl who lives in front of The Old Mill House.

 Thank you very much for all your advice.

 Sorry but we are not artists, so we didn't create a poem or painting, but one thing is sure: we left a part of our soul there...

 We hope a lot of people will discover this country and The Old Mill House."

July 2006

Villas for Rent in Cyprus and Cyprus Golf Holidays:

A lovely Cyprus Cottage, unspoilt area of Cyprus, Welcoming Cyprus golf club, Fascinating Wildlife

"Well, what a lovely cottage and as we had hoped found it a fantastic quiet retreat away from all the hubbub of Limassol. Maria (the village mayoress) was wonderful and on arrival she had left goodies in the fridge for us which we were most grateful for. We thought that the house was charming, well equipped and very comfortable and a lot of thought had obviously been put into ensuring that the guests have a good stay. It was lovely being in such an unspoilt area of Cyprus, just our cup of tea! The amazing views can only be seen to be believed. As we returned to the cottage each evening we would park the car en route so we could look at the incredible sunsets over the mountains. We did venture up to Vikla Golf Club where Robin (Robin Houry, manager of Vikla Golf Club) was most welcoming saying we could use the pool anytime on popping a small donation in a pot on the bar. The wild life was fascinating, on returning late one night there was a small hedgehog (with long ears!) waiting for us on the door step.  We have taken numerous photos of cats, goats, swallows, hens, lizards and much more. We would definitely consider returning to this wonderful spot. Thanks Robin."

June 2006

Villas for Rent in Cyprus: Perfect Stay for a Cyprus Honeymoon

From our first honeymooners!

"Thank you for very much Robin, we had a perfect stay in Cyprus and in the Old Mill House. I have to say that staying a bit away from the crowded beaches of Larnaca and Limassol, was very rewarding. We spent most of the spare time we had on visiting other small villages in the area and we had two day trips out of the area, going to Paphos the first day and the mountain region of Troodos the other."

April 2006

Villas for Rent in Cyprus and Cyprus Golf Holidays:

Countryside lovers' comparison to a Gold Star Resort, excellent Cyprus golf holiday

"Having stayed the previous week in an RCI gold star resort we were expecting high standard and yes we had it from The Old Mill House. Nestling in the hills one has to accept that this is a holiday where a car is needed and you need to be a countryside lover.  Golf Club excellent, even if you don't play golf: friendly, helpful, and a good pint of beer - mainly Ex Brits."

 

March 2006

Villas for Rent in Cyprus: Special Time in Cyprus and Pictorial Review

Bernie and Ruthie stayed and produced the painting below.  It provides a visual review of the local landscape.  They wrote:

"I just finished a painting that was inspired by the beautiful view as you walk up the hill away from the house, and was wondering if I should share it with you.  So, when we got your e-mail, I  saw it as a sign from the universe...or something like that. For us it's a reminder of the special time we had in Cyprus."

Villas for rent in Cyprus, Cyprus Golf Holidays

Painting © Bernie and Ruthie Schatz 2006

February 2006

Poetical Reviews

The following 3 reviews by Mr Tucker Zimmerman (composer, musician, poet, and author - his website is well worth a visit: www.tuckerzimmerman.com) are in the form of poetry and were written whilst staying there for a month (Jan-Feb 2006):

11th February 2006, 4:00 am

Everyday - Birdsong Chorus

9th February 2006

Cyprus Winter

9th February 2006

Cyprus Bike Poem

"Everyday (as always)

I feed the little birds that fly down

From the olive tree chunks of brown bread.

 

A couple of days ago one asked,

"Do you think we could have it toasted?"

 

No problem, I toasted the slices,

Diced them and tossed them out.

 

That was yesterday, that's when one of them asked,

"Next time, how about a little butter?"

 

No problem, this morning I buttered the toast,

Diced the slices into tasty squares and scattered them across the grass.

 

Everybody was happy, except on bird,

"How about some strawberry jam?"

 

Now I know why the hunters come out,

On Sunday morning and shoot these birds,

They started asking for cream and sugar in their coffee."

"We find different ways

to get through the winter

 

Start anywhere

Stop when you've had enough

 

Started drinking ouzo today

(small bottle: 10cl)

(but on an empty stomach)

I biked up the hill

(into the wind) to Kellaki

I walked a few kilometers

into the hills

collecting firewood

(and observed the three-quarter moon

drifting up from the east

over the mountains

to wash the melted snow away)

now all I need is a flooded valley

to swim across

and I would be in

the Ouzo Triathlon"

"I sweep around Eucalyptus Corner

Slow, stop to pick up a branch

Blown down by the storm last night

 

And there's this man

Coming up the road at me

And I say, "Hello there."

and he growls, "Hiss!"

(or maybe it's "Yiss")

 

I looked it up

in the dictionary

when I got home

"Hiss" in Greek

means, "don't pick up

the Eucalyptus branch.

It belongs to me."

 

"Yiss" means nothing

the man was having a hard time

getting the word

out of his mouth

he was trying to say

"Eucalyptus."

 

either way

I kept the branch

and brought it home with me

on the bike

and it now stands

in an empty milk bottle

in the middle of my table

I fill the bottle with water

so it won't fall over

I look at the branch

once in a while

it belongs to me

I say, "Yiss!".

Other Customer Reviews 2005 -

Villas for Rent in Cyprus and Cyprus Golf Holidays:

Friendly Cyprus Village, Inexpensive Cyprus golf club, walker and mountain biker paradise, quiet holiday

"We had a real pleasure in staying there because this house is very beautiful, very tastefully furnished and located in a very nice village with very friendly people."

"A lovely well appointed cottage in a very quiet hillside village location, close to friendly and inexpensive golf club. Golfers, walkers and mountain bikers paradise!  Excellent property for a quiet holiday. "

Magazine Review -

Villas for Rent in Cyprus and Cyprus Golf Holidays:

BCA Magazine, Egypt (www.bcaegypt.com) written by Paul Davison - Cyprus countryside, Limassol mountains, Cyprus golf club

"It had been some time since I had been out of Limassol (town), and I was reminded once again of the beauty of the Cyprus countryside as we drove up a winding road into the mountains.  To one side you look towards Mt Olympus, to the other is Akrotiri Bay, a sight that I look out on daily and that never fails to please, but only rarely have I looked upon the scene from in the mountains.  It was worth the trip just for that, and you people who have never been to Cyprus don't know what you are missing.

The Old Mill House used to be stables for horses that worked a mill, but now it is a charming dwelling, and Klonari is far enough off the beaten track as to be almost lost in time.  If you like bright lights and razzamatazz then don't bother booking a holiday here, get yourself to Aya Napa, or the eastern end of Limassol, but if you seek peace and quiet this is the place for you.  Apart from the fact that it is opposite a church and there are cockerels with the annoying habit of crowing early in the morning (or so one recent tenant complained - what did he expect in the countryside?), this must be one of the most peaceful places I have been to in a long time.

The Old Mill House is small, but well-appointed and will sleep six, two in the master bedroom that has a double bed, two in single beds in the second bedroom, and two on a sofa bed in the lounge, ideal for a family, but six adults would have to get on together very well, or only use the place for sleeping.  The cottage is fully furnished, with all you would need for a relaxing holiday, including a TV and DVD."

Klonari has a delightful 16th century church and orange grove.  "A shop and taverna are to be found 5km away at Kellaki.  However, most expat country-dwellers and holiday-makers do their shopping in bulk at Chris Cash & Carry, or Orphanides supermarkets in Limassol, consequently a car is essential.  Most would want a car, in any case, so as to tour the island and Klonari is close enough to the main highway to make it a suitable base for touring.  It is also close enough to the east end of Limassol's tourist area, for those seeking the occasional drink, or Brit Abroad style restaurant meal.

The area offers superb opportunities for walking and nature rambles and, for those who like to spoila good walk with a little golf, Vikla Golf & Country Club is 1 km away.  Should Cyprus ever get a European Tour event, it will not be staged at Vikla, but I am told by a friend who is a member there that the course has its own charms and is rarely crowded, enabling golfers to choose their own tee-times.  It is also the only course in the medium price range that has greens, rather than browns.  The Club is British-run, has a swimming pool, a bar, and serves snacks.  The Aphrodite Hills and Secret Valley golf courses are within easy reach, making The Old Mill House a good centre for a golfing holiday.

There are many churches, monasteries and wineries in the Troodos foothills to satisfy those who like to do some rubber-necking.

As I wrote earlier, if you want the bright lights, nightclubs, pubs etc. this is not the place for you, go to Limassol (town), Aya Napa, or Paphos; but if you are looking for some peace and quiet, after the noise and fumes of Cairo, or if you want to experience the real Cyprus, you could do a lot worse than booking a holiday at The Old Mill House, Klonari."

For further Cyprus links see Many things to do in Cyprus for full details

Tel:    +441244-566253 (01244-566253 from UK)

or +447871085332 (Mobile)

robin.harrison@talk21.com

View rates, availability and book online by clicking:  Pure Tranquility - Your Perfect Holiday!

Villas for Rent in Cyprus, Cyprus Golf Holidays